Conversations with Contemporary Women Writers events – Kate Johnson,Shamshad Khan and Elizabeth Chadwick

conversations header

The School of Cultural Studies and Humanities in conjunction with the Contemporary Women’s Writing Association are delighted to announce the further speakers in our series of ‘Conversations with Contemporary Women Writers’, taking place at Leeds Metropolitan University over the next three months. We will be welcoming:


Kate Johnson

Tuesday 21 May 2013, 17.30-19.00

Leeds Metropolitan University, A203

Kate Johnson is a writer of romantic and paranormal fiction. She is a self-confessed fan of Terry Pratchett, whose fantasy fiction has inspired her to write her own books. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and has previously published short stories in the UK and romantic mysteries in the US. She is a previous winner of the WisRWA’s Silver Quill and Passionate Ink’s Passionate Plume award. The UnTied Kingdom was Kate’s UK debut and was short listed for the 2012 Romantic Contemporary Novel of the year award (RoNA). Run Rabbit Run is the fifth novel in her Sophie Green Mysteries and the first to be published in the UK.


Shamshad Khan

Wednesday 29 May 2013 17.30-19.00

Leeds Metropolitan University, A312

Shamshad Khan is a performance poet whose work has appeared in a number of anthologies and been featured on BBC Radio 3 and 4. Her poetic monologue Hard Cut was performed for the conference of women live art performers (Berne, Switzerland) and Khala Ghoda Festival (Mumbai, India). The pieces Megalomaniac and Hard Cut were both directed by Mark Whitelaw, winner of the Lawrence Olivier Award 2004. Her performances have included collaborations with musicians, beatboxers and video artists. She is co-editor of two anthologies of poetry for crocus books. Her first collection, Megalomaniac, was published by Salt in 2007.


Elizabeth Chadwick

Monday 17 June 2013 17.30-19.00

Leeds Metropolitan University, A301

Elizabeth Chadwick is an award-winning author of historical fiction. Her novel To Defy A King won the 2011 Romantic Novelists Association prize for the genre. In 1998, her novel The Champion was shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists Association Parker Pen Award for the best Romantic novel of the year. In 2010 The Scarlet Lion was nominated as one of the ten landmark historical novels of the decade by Historical Novel Society founder Richard Lee. ‘Her latest novel, The Summer Queen is the first in a major trilogy about Eleanor of Aquitaine.’




ALL ARE VERY WELCOME! For further information please contact Dr Susan Watkins